1931 Pierce-Arrow Model differences

Home Page Forums General 1931 Pierce-Arrow Model differences

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

I have been very involved elsewhere and have been rather quiet here on these Pierce-Arrow central forums. At this moment I do have a good Pierce arrow related question. I am not very familiar with the 1931 Pierce-Arrow Models. ( I really know nothing of that vintage).  Could someone school me on the specific differences between a 1931 Model 43 Pierce-Arrow and a 1931 Pierce-Arrow Model 42 as well as the 1931 Pierce-Arrow Model 41. I am interested in basics as in options, wheelbase, transmission, engine HP and CID. I am ready to learn.

Alan Dewsnup

Hi, Alan:

I’m by no means an expert, but wondered if you’ve seen this very helpful guide/judging standards for the ’29-’31 models? Much praise to Rick and Liz Horne and Karl Krouch (and others) for taking the time to produce the video and PDF!

1929-31 Judging Standards & Restoration Video

This guide was most helpful to me in straightening some State title paperwork from 1931 to 1930. Hopefully it also helps answer a few of your questions…

I notice your definition of 1931 Pierces omits the earliest models, the Salon Models group, introduced in September 1930 to coincide with the annual Automobile Salon show season publicity (predating the annual automobile shows). Pierce identified them as 1931 models but they have 1930 factory chassis specifications with special trim (including the Isotta Fraschini tweak of a radiator screen). Still, new series-custom models such as the new LeBaron convertible victoria were introduced then, too, on 1930 wheelbases, later reintroduced in calendar 1931 with changed chassis. Others, such as a one-off 1930-style factory convertible version, fitted with Salon Model trim, add to make Pierce’s definition of 1931 especially interesting.