1930 Model A Convertible on EBay

Home Page Forums General 1930 Model A Convertible on EBay

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

I am new to the Pierce-Arrow Society, and yes, I keep an eye on the vehicles which appear for sale as I would like eventually, once I’ve educated myself, to acquire a Pierce-Arrow, and more importantly, drive it.

I’m paying close attention to the comments about where to acquire vehicles. Acquiring something with a known history makes sense.

I noticed the enclosed advertisement on Ebay today. While it looks like a very nice car, the lack of a bid says something as well.

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/121563243663?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&fromMakeTrack=true

There are a few things going on with that eBay listing.

The opening price on the car is a bit steep and no reserve (?).

The car has obviously been through a number of “collectors” and it sounds as though the seller is a dealer and not a Pierce-Arrow guy.

The seller does not list the engine or body S/Ns so there is no way to track the car through the PAS unless someone happens to recognize it.

It does appear to be a “nice” looking car but i would think that more info is necessary to get someone to make the first leap and offer the initial $80K with the prospects of getting into a bidding duel for the car.

I do not even know if it is “correct” because I am not a 1930-A guy.

Also, what color is it? in one pic it looks blue, in a few others, perhaps burgundy.

From some angles, the paint does not look well done.

I would want to touch it and hear it run before I thought about laying out $80 to $100 large.

If it is a good deal, the snipers will come out to snag it in the last 30-seconds of the auction.

If they don’t come out to snipe, it was not a good deal.

Come to the Buffalo Meet this summer and get to drive some cars so you can find out which you like.

Finally, welcome to the Society!