1931 Air Filter Replacement

Home Page Forums Engine 1931 Air Filter Replacement

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 22 total)
  • Author

I am new here, so if this is a repeat please forgive me…

If you read the barn find thread I am the guy who purchased Miltons 31 model 43 sedan and I’m just beginning to work on her. Having come from an antique car background, I have constantly heard the best thing you can do for a car is give it clean gas and air, so I decided to change the air filter in the car and this is what I came up with. I disassembled the original filter by bending back the three tabs of the strips holding it all together. I took the bottom flange from it and dropped it upside down into the housing. I didn’t cement anything so it could be undone but it would be easier if it was. I then replaced the filtering element with a K&N permanent style air filter that was made for a motorcycle engine, it’s part number is AL-1001. It is the perfect length to seal between the upside down flange and the cover and it’s one that can be washed and re-oiled whenever is needed. Hopefully my pictures will be posted, but it was a very simple retrofit.

Next

Next

I don’t know what is worse, having to add pictures one at a time or how often I have to log back onto the messages…

The last picture looks just like the first – You would never know what I had inside…

That filter looks like it was made for the car.

Thanks for sharing and congrats on the new Pierce.

Milton is a heck of good guy to pick up a car from.

The car was sold through his son Tim, but it is a great car for us and I’ve been pushing him to visit while on vacation down here this weekend. I can only assume his father is the same great person as he seems. We talked and texted a lot since the purchase.