1934 1240A

Home Page Forums General 1934 1240A

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Okay, I am a newbie here, and I’m just curious if anyone knows anything about the nice 1934 1240A that is being offered at the Volo Auto Museum in Volo, IL. I think about that car a lot, and kind of wonder if anyone has had any experience with it. Don’t know if I’d be able to afford it right now, but I want to start looking into a nice car for my retirement. I’m pretty mechanically inept, so want to be rather careful. Another question, probably more general, is that I’m sure that this car will not fit in my garage. Right now a Dodge Magnum and a Chevy Tahoe make a very tight fit. I’m sure the Pierce is longer than the Tahoe, which would be evicted to the street to make room for a Pierce. Any suggestions on safe storage areas in the NW Chicago area? Considering the composite body, steel panels with wood framing, would temperature control be advisable?

Thanks

There are much more knowledgeable (is that a word?) guys and gals on this forum than myself, but the main thing to consider when buying a 12 is condition of engine.

Previously discussed on the forum, so I won’t mention numbers again, but the difference between a well sorted, excellent V-12, and one that needs a rebuild, is huge…and your retirement fund will be stressed.

Don’t get me wrong, great cars, putting your foot into a 12’s torque is amazing, I’ve owned one and driven one recently, and there’s nothing like it. Dollars and sense, though, just be careful….