’30 Pierce and Led Zeppelin

Home Page Forums General ’30 Pierce and Led Zeppelin

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Have often wondered where this Pierce went?

“And as we wind on down the road

Our shadows taller than our soul…” (“Stairway to Heaven”)

Stills from Led Zeppelin: “The Song Remains the Same”, film (1973/6)

https://archive.org/details/LedZeppelinTheSongRemainsTheSame-Film1976

The Credits on the movie indicate that the Pierce-Arrow is a 1928, but gives no other information on ownership, etc.

The credits further obscure the year, and offer limited info. on the ownership, as you indicate. Though I’m by no means an expert, it appears to be a Club Sedan from ’30 (or a carryover) by the bumper, hub cap profile, and individual cowl doors, along with the higher interior door handles. A closer look at the car, frame-by-frame, reveals a black/yellow 1973 California license plate with the numbers HJV 907.

I’ll admit this gangster sketch is very strange with all of the clichés. Pinstripe suits, loud ties, and handkerchiefs in the pockets, and of course the Thompsons with the “Type C”, 100-round drums. Lotsa firepower there from an unlikely ride. Would expect such a drive-by from one of the early Ford V8s, or a straight-8 Essex Terraplane, or a Buick. I guess you don’t want my type at the movies ; )

It’s a 1929 or 1930.  I can’t tell if there are courtesy lights on the splash aprons–if not, it’s a late-1929 133 (133″ wheelbase as appears proper from proportions) equipped with hood doors rather than louvers, OR a 1930 Model C (132″ wb).  If you can see round courtesy lights, it’s a 1930 Model B (139″ wb).  Those headlight lenses appear to be flat rather than convex which would be 1929.  The auxiliary lights also look like the smaller 1929 units with flat lenses.  The 1930 headlights are one-year convex “happy face” prisms, and the 1930 aux light lenses are miniatures of the HL lenses.  The sidemounted spare brackets appear to be 1930.