coolant consumption

Home Page Forums Engine coolant consumption

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 27 total)
  • Author

I recently joined the PAS and to my surprise and the luck of timing, found and purchased a restored 1929 roadster. I am a novice to pre-war classic cars and I am having some teething pains with this car but so far most issues are being resolved with basic tune-up types of repairs.

I was told by Ed Minnie when I first got the car to check the oil and water after each hour of driving. I have noticed that there appears to be a significant (to me) amount of coolant consumption. I filled the radiator to within 3-4 inches of the top so the fins are completely covered, but at least 3 inches below what looks like a drain tube in the radiator neck. Looking under the car there are no puddles or fluids dripping that I have noticed. After each drive of an hour or less, the coolant level is below the metal fins and I need to add 1-2 gallons of distilled water to get it back up to the level it was before the drive. I recently checked and regapped all the spark plugs and they looked dry and had a brownish color at the tips although one was a little darker than the others but not extremely different and definitely not wet or sooty. I have also noticed what I think is a lot of condensation/water behind the car on the floor of the garage after starting it (probably no more that an ounce but enough to make a small puddle), but no white smoke behind the car while driving.

So, is this normal coolant consumption or could I have an internal leak (blown head gasket) or other problem?

Robert

A compression /Leak Down Test is where I would start to prove/disprove the internal issue.

What color, if any is the exhaust smoke? White could indicate coolant burning(steam).

I have a link to a chart for analysis of exhaust smoke.

Good luck

http://www.nctcog.org/trans/air/smoking/SmokeChartEN.pdf

Thanks for the quick replies.