Hydrostatic fuel tank sending unit

Home Page Forums Engine Hydrostatic fuel tank sending unit

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

The last trip I took in the pierce went fine , and I pulled back up to the house and let the engine idle a bit. Then it died, as the result of being out of gas. Instead of guessing how much gas is in the tank, which I am not very good at, or not as good as I thought. I now need to get the Hydroststic unit working or put in a modern float. I have been told that the hydrostatic unit is hard to get to work . And that I should just put in a float type unit. If so what tpye of float should I get. Thanks Doug

You can purchase a generic float at Advance Auto. I believe this is where I bought a fuel level tank sender model CP7583 Mfg. by Sunpro by Actron Mfg. Co. 9999 Walford Ave. Cleveland OH. They have the gauges to match the unit. I installed the sender unit in my Mitchell gas tank in case I wanted to install a gauge in the future.

The original units are HARD to get to work and especially HARD to keep working.

You can buy brand new units, lock,stock, and line if you want to. I admit I just made mine read 2/3 full all the time and kept track of my miles driven to each refill.

Thanks to you both, Thats what I needed to know. Doug

Hi Doug,

I took it as a challenge to get the King-Seeley Hydrostatic gauge to work, because, I also had heard how difficult it is to get it to work. But….it can be done. Time, patience, resourcefulness will be required. I was successful in getting mine to work in my car.

There have been several good articles in the PASB’s over the years. If you are interested, let me know and I can send you one if you want to read up on these.

There are several key areas: