Identifying a Pierce Arrow

Home Page Forums General Identifying a Pierce Arrow

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

I just received this picture of a 1930 Pierce Arrow 8cyl. 5 pass sedan. The owner is interested in the possibilities of trading it for one of my cars (1957 Continental MKII). He mentioned that it was a model 133 with a 133inch wheel base which does not seem correct to me but I am very new to Pierce Arrows. Has anyone seen this car at a show or other places? He is in the process of getting more pictures and info to me. The car runs well but has some electrical problems. It is located in FL so I would need someone to look at for me if it gets that far. Thanks for any information or advice.

The picture is not showing up for some reason, I will try to post it soon.

third try

I’ll be taking a trip to Florida soon. What town is it located in? If close to my area I’ll check it out for you. Ed

Hello Martin,

The model designation “133” is a 1929 model, rather than a 1930. Looking at some of the features in the photograph that can be seen, the louvered hood, the flat headlight lenses, the short door handles, it also appears to be a 1929. If you have the serial number, we can tell definitively.

1929/1930/1931 can be difficult to tell apart. Cars that did not sell one year were sometimes sold as new cars the next year in this period as the depression was on and sales were falling. The serial number, however, will tell you definitively what year the car is.

What kind of electrical problem is the owner reporting?

It would be great if Ed could look at the car for you. He has expert knowledge and a real eye for old cars!

Happy Motoring,

Chris Diekman

There is some confusion on 1929-30 cars, especially those produced late in 1929. I’m sure some 1929-30 owners will be able to correct any misinformation I may give you here! :-)