Replace broken UU2 Stromberg.

Home Page Forums Engine Replace broken UU2 Stromberg.

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author

I am seeking advice on replacing the carburetor on my 1931 model43 tourer. The UU2 which was removed for a service is beyond local repair and I missed the one on eBay about a month ago. My nearest classic car garage proposes to fit an SU with appropriate jets to keep my car on the road in the hope that another UU2 becomes available. I use the car for driving so am not picky about its being altered provided it is not permanently changed. Would much appreciate advice on the proposed replacement, summer in the south west of Scotland is a fleeting and unreliable season and I would like to enjoy the car while the season lasts. I am new to Pierce-Arrows and they are very rare here.

You can buy a correct carb, a UUR2 from member John Cislak. He makes more than 100 parts for the Stromberg carb series that fit Pierce Arrow. The UU-2 is not correct for your car, and it’s probably not even a Pierce application. He has correct venturies, jets, linkage, choke and air horn, ect in stock. Go to the AACA website and the forum section and type in Stromberg UUR2 in the search engine, you will see more than a dozen photos of his work and parts avaliable. His number is 413-542-9017 eastern time, same as New York City. I was in his shop last week, and there was a customer interested in a UUR-2 for a Stutz, so I am sure he has a carb available. Good luck, Ed.

I’ve mentioned this before, I too have a Model 43 touring/phaeton, and had John Cislak rebuild the carburetor. I was amazed at the difference in how the car both sounds and responds, a great improvement.

A correct UUR2 will set you back quite a few Pound Sterling, but you’ll be very happy if you get one that John has rebuilt.

What is the body number of you car? Just curious to compare to mine, I know Bob Dluhy’s car is within a few numbers of mine…..