Trans. and axle oil viscosity

Home Page Forums Engine Trans. and axle oil viscosity

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Message deleted by original poster

I recommend the use of an ‘old’ NON-EP lubricant in the Overdrive transmissions. I have been using this for many years in all of my cars with Borg-Warner O/D transmissions. This thinking originally came from problems with a B/W overdrive sticking in one of my non-Pierce cars long ago. The change solved the problem.

When I purchased our 1936 1601 sedan in 1995 I was given the same advice by George Peckover, the former owner, former PAS Technical Director, and something of an authority on lubricants. It is not generally available in stores, but I can purchase Quaker State 90/110 Non-EP in 5 Gallon quantity through the local oil distributor.

I use a modern 140 in the rear axles of both the 1601 and 1247.

Roger,

It’s actually easier than the last time I chased it down.

Go to your local NAPA and have them order GL-1 Gear Lube in either 1 gallon or 5 gallon containers. Stock numbers NHF 65-201 and NHF 65-205 respectively.

Dave Stevens

I am changing the ring and pinion in my 1927 series 80 and started my gear oil search by contacting member George Teebay. He led me to NAPA also AND GL-4 140. At NAPA they have multiple high viscocity gear oils and I called the Tech-line on the containers and spoke with a “scientist”.