vibrating circuit breaker

Home Page Forums General vibrating circuit breaker

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

I am just finishing the restoration of a 1931 Series 42 Sport Phaeton. For safety and peace of mind I am considering replacing the under dash circuit breaker with a fuse block. Not sure I want to trust an 80 year old safety device. Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks, Al

Al,

Been thinking about the response to this for a while. It would be nice for the other engineers to step forward with their thoughts on this as well.

Before I answer, let me explain I am an electrical engineer, master electrician, and an ASE master. I have worked as an expert witness on electrical cases involving electrical fires, lightning, and voltage surges. Electricity is nothing to play with, and it is always a good idea to take every precaution to ensure the system is as safe as possible.

Having said that, your question relates to the replacement of the circuit breaker(s) in your Pierce. Before I would think about the breaker, I would first determine the condition of the items the breaker is designed to protect, namely the wiring and devices being fed the electricity. Circuit breakers in the early ’30’s were rare. Most auto manufacturers used fuses, as they were cheaper. Even into modern times, autos are usually protected by fuses. Circuit breakers, then and now, were used to protect devices, such as headlights, that were essential to the car’s operation, and where the complete loss of the circuit could have disastrous results. Breakers in cars were designed to trip in an overcurrent condition, and reset after some period of time. This was often done using a bimetal strip, which curved in an overcurrent conditon, and reset after the metal strip cooled. It is the same design in a flasher.